Elden Ring classes list and all their differences

Elden Ring is incoming, bringing a new FromSoftware game for players to explore. Like past games that the studio developed, Elden Ring allows players to choose a starting class. This doesn’t keep you from going in a different direction with your build later on but is instead meant to provide you with different starting stats, equipment, and magic. Here’s all the Elden Ring classes and their differences we know about so far.

Elden Ring classes

Elden Ring is an ambitious game, with numerous ways to build your character. Choosing a class is still important however, as it determines what you’re sent out into this world with, determining just how your starting time goes with what could end up as one of the best Xbox RPGs available.

If, for example, you choose to go with the Bloody Wolf class, then you’ll have a strong starting sword and high strength, at the cost of having no ranged capabilities. Meanwhile, the Prophet class only has a club weapon, but also comes with Heal, one of the many of the many pieces of magic in Elden Ring.

It’s important to note that we’re basing this information off the classes found in the Elden Ring network test and other information released prior to the game’s launch. As such, things might change by the full launch of the game. If so, we’ll update this article accordingly, as well as add other information on launch classes once we’ve actually got the game in our hands.


A scholar who reads fate in the stars. Heir to the school of glintstone sorcery.


A dangerous bandit who strikes for weak points. Excels at ranged combat with bows.

Bloody Wolf

The Wolf is cunning, steadfast, and deadly. These warriors have no fear and face down death with unmatched vigor and pride.

Starting stats:

  • Level — 5
  • Vigor — 14
  • Mind — 11
  • Endurance — 12
  • Strength — 16
  • Dexterity — 12
  • Intelligence — 7
  • Faith — 9
  • Arcane — 6

Starting weapons, items, and magic: Bastard Sword, Iron Roundshield


Equipped with a Sacred Seal and an Ax, the Champion can burn foes from a distance or take them head-on in melee combat. They are ferocious fighters who do not fear death.

Starting stats:

  • Level — 5
  • Vigor — 13
  • Mind — 9
  • Endurance — 12
  • Strength — 14
  • Dexterity — 8
  • Intelligence — 5
  • Faith — 15
  • Arcane — 11

Starting weapons, items, and magic: Battle Ax, Finger Seal, Red Thorn Roundshield, Dragonfire.

Enchanted Knight

These Knights have embraced the power of Glintstone, facing enemies in melee combat while simultaneously casting spells. They often seek out and destroy those who use magic for nefarious purposes.

Starting stats:

  • Level — 5
  • Vigor — 10
  • Mind — 13
  • Endurance — 11
  • Strength — 15
  • Dexterity — 12
  • Intelligence — 16
  • Faith — 5
  • Arcane — 5

Starting weapons, items, and magic: Winged Spear, Carian Glintstone Shield, Carian Sorcerer Staff, Carian Piercer, Glintstone Pebble.


A stalwart hero, at home with a battleaxe, descended from a badlands chieftain.

Starting stats unknown.

Starting weapons, items, and magic: Battleaxe.


Holy warriors equipped with the ability to use Incantations to face foes, or to protect allies. Faith is the weapon of the Prophet, and they wield it with prejudice.

Starting stats:

  • Level — 5
  • Vigor — 9
  • Mind — 16
  • Endurance — 10
  • Strength — 12
  • Dexterity — 9
  • Intelligence — 8
  • Faith — 16
  • Arcane — 7

Starting weapons, items, and magic: Club, Clawmark Seal, Rickety Shield, Heal, Beast Claw.


A knight exiled from their homeland to wander. A solid, armor-clad origin.

Starting stats and equipment unknown.


The Warrior is a Dexterity-based character who uses agile and acrobatic attacks to deal with enemies at close range. Equipped with a Buckler and Medium Armor, the warrior’s default skills allow for projectile-style sword storm attacks.

Starting stats:

  • Level — 5
  • Vigor — 12
  • Mind — 10
  • Endurance — 13
  • Strength — 11
  • Dexterity — 15
  • Intelligence — 9
  • Faith — 7
  • Arcane — 10

Starting weapons, items, and magic: Two Scimitars, Buckler.

More to come

With the number of items and magic abilities in Elden Ring, we’ll be putting together guides on the builds players might want to try out once the game is fully available. The main thing to remember is that these classes are a starting point — you can flesh out your character through leveling up however you want!

Elden Ring is currently scheduled to launch on Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, Xbox One, PC, PS5, and PS4 on Feb. 25, 2022.

Leave a Comment